RSS Feed

The Abyss

Posted on

abyss

Β 

From the abyss, I will emerge
Stand before myself, drained and hallow
Stare at the surface, rippled and shallow
I have been here before
Facing shadows
Gasping for air
As the sun dances on waves
I have been here before
In temped waters, soft and salty
Floating on falacies
And misunderstandings
Bidding farewell

Lost meanings travel the tide
Currents are destined to ride
With freighters and greater things
But I will meet with the ocean floor
Where life begins again
One breath, arms weightless
I will become one with life’s blood
Until my hands find the rocks
And my heart finds the courage
To rise up again

I am hosting Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub. No prompt required although you may want to use one you’ve missed to spark your muse. We are a friendly bunch. Drop in, share your work and engage with other poets! Doors open at 3 p.m. EST.

57 responses »

  1. Well done…

    Reply
  2. We can find our strength in the sea from where we emerged to walk on dry land.

    Reply
  3. The metaphor of sinking is so well used throughout this poem as well as a gently rhyme to accentuate without forcing it upon the reader… this has to be one of my favorites you have written.

    Reply
    • Thank you for this generous comment, Bjorn. I am actually surprised because I felt it really lacked in description and language. It just proves that we are not always the best judge of our own work.

      Reply
  4. This is very brave and inspiring to read Mish ~ Never mind how deep we can sink, to the ocean floor, but we will rise up, hopefully stronger than ever ~ Thanks for hosting OLN ~ Happy weekend ~

    Reply
  5. This is such an inspirational poem, Michelle ❀ a whole lot of wisdom and strength runs here in these lines; "Lost meanings travel the tide, currents are destined to ride with freighters and greater things; but I will meet with the ocean floor where life begins again" Sigh.. beautifully penned.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply
  6. Several of us have turned to the sea tonight – all very different This is gorgeous, Mish.
    I love the rhymes and the pace of this poem, stately like a sailing ship, and then falling like a wave.

    Reply
  7. There is a beautiful cadence to this poem and so much sadness within it. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  8. A strong write, with real depth and integrity too… A paradox of life the higher we dare tom go, the further there is to fall… And getting back up into the light again – now there’s the thing… Thanks for the ambition in this piece… With Best Wishes Scott

    Reply
  9. I like the repeated line “I have been here before.” Not sure why that stood out to me.

    Reply
  10. Oh my…you had me at the first line and then took me on a journey that was all yours and yet universal. Beautiful beautiful writing. Deeply moving.

    Reply
  11. Strong and beautiful!

    Reply
  12. The sea can be frighteningly calm or frightfully wild but sinking down to the ocean floor can be mesmerizing. It is relatively more organised in a natural way. Wonderful lines Mish!

    Hank

    Reply
  13. This was very well written.

    Reply
  14. A wonderful metaphor…

    Reply
  15. This is awesome! I especially like the opening three lines and this pair:
    “Floating on falacies
    And misunderstandings”

    Reply
  16. To sink into the abyss, and to rise a new spirit. I have been here before and I can overcome.

    Reply
  17. I love the metaphor of meeting the ocean floor where life begins again until I find rocks and the strength to rise up again.

    Reply
  18. “Lost meanings travel the tide” put me in an altered state of consciousness. Strong!

    Reply
  19. Beautiful, beautiful lines Mish! I especially love these lines,
    One breath, arms weightless
    I will become one with life’s blood
    Until my hands find the rocks
    And my heart finds the courage
    To rise up again.. ❀

    Reply
  20. Facing shadows…gasping for air..facing fallacies…the abyss — staring into that hole in the soul. This is so powerful. I am glad the poem ends with the hands grasping rocks, a solid to hang onto..and the heart finds the power to rise again. This reminds me of the struggle so many face each day who are in the throes of depression. They face an abyss over and over again. You’ve given voice and hope here. A wonderful post.

    Reply
  21. I like the gentleness of this…not to be taken literally, it lets us float from one life to another, one realm to another, or whatever one would want to think of as eternity. Lovely

    Reply
  22. Deeply , deeply moving. Evocative of so much of life, the sinking and rising. Beautiful work,.

    Reply
  23. Wow, incredible word smithing, with creative rhyming, refrains, & metaphysical & hopeful message–each lifetime a journey, each facing what appears to be an abyss, but finely materializes as a doorway. /I have been here before/–damn right, & the hardy soul picks the rebirth, the defiant, brave, inexorable “rising”–yes–to rise, Lazarus, Christ, the world Trade Center, and/or ourselves. See what you started?

    Reply
  24. Lovely poem. Reminds me quite a bit of Chris Tomlin’s I shall rise up….wonderful and true poem. If we but have faith, we all will rise.

    Reply
  25. Wonderful! You really captured the feeling.

    Reply
  26. I just loved the second stanza….!

    Reply
  27. I want to know what took the narrator to the abyss, again and again.

    Reply
  28. Sinking and rising provide a powerful metaphor here. It’s easy to sink, but harder to find the courage to rise again. Nicely done!

    Reply
  29. “Floating on fallacies and misunderstandings.” I like that line a lot. Good job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

