RSS Feed

Strange Road

Posted on

 

I walk tight ropes

Intricately sewn of my own doubts

Back and forth I tiptoe

From sky blue clarity

To the rarity of

Predictions come true

And here I pause

One foot fixed and ready to

Fly across the flames

The other sifting pebbles

Of doubt between my toes

I wave to hazy horizons

That already know

My destiny

 

 

Today I am hosting at dVerse Poets Pub where we are using signs as a visual prompt. Let them speak to you metaphorically or as an allegory, take you to a deeper place or even a comical place. Your sign does not need to have words, as symbols have stories and voices too.

 

35 responses »

  1. I love the images in this…the tightrope sewn with doubts and ‘sifting pebbles
    of doubt between my toes’ especially

    Reply
    • Thank you, Janice…and for making me realize I had overused the word “doubt”. Will need to edit that, I think.

      Reply
      • I didn’t notice the repetition myself until I wrote down those two images that really stood out for me…all that to say that when reading the poem it doesn’t feel ‘doubt heavy’

  2. I love the word mastery! Beautiful write.

    Reply
  3. Two thumbs up, Mish!

    Reply
  4. Life can be a strange road…

    Reply
  5. I liked the sound of “sky blue clarity” followed by “rarity of predictions” and the idea that the horizon knows my destiny.

    Reply
  6. To walk on that tightrope is something we need to learn… but most of the time we manage.

    Reply
  7. Love all the imagery in this well crafted poem. Yeah…we need that balance and be cautious as we move forward in this journey of life.

    Reply
  8. Oh yes, this was awfully good. I liked the emotion flowing thru your poem. I felt it.

    Reply
  9. I enjoyed the structure of the poem and the photo to go with it is just as, well, fitting, but I wonder if we don’t underestimate our own ability to change the ending to fit our purpose? Indeed, I wonder if that isn’t why we have free will?

    Reply
  10. Oftentimes we are on that crossroads, full of doubts but full of excitement to:

    Fly across the flames

    Thanks for the wonderful challenge ~

    Reply
  11. Sifting pebbles of doubt between my toes – what a marvelous line! Love this poem & thanks for hosting.

    Reply
  12. You’ve nicely captured the idea of being at a crossroads, unsure of which way to go. Being certain but also in doubt. I can relate to that.

    Reply
  13. Such a unique road sign that offers all kinds of ideas and I love how you flew with it. Really good image here:

    One foot fixed and ready to
    Fly across the flames
    The other sifting pebbles
    Of doubt between my toes

    I do believe that we do have the power to choose and hopefully choose wisely. At times, though, things do befall us that we can’t control. But we can choose our response to them.

    Thanks for the fun prompt. Wish I had time to write more.

    Reply
  14. A tight rope made of doubt. Perfect!

    Reply
  15. First — many thanks for this amazing prompt! I’ve so been enjoying all the responses this morning…and seeing the signs. Your sign(s) is one that made me smile. It reminded me of the street signs in Bermuda and makes me realize that I should have used them for my post….I think there will be one coming in the future for Open Link night…St. George’s in Bermuda where we stay has streets/lanes with names like Church Folly, Pain Lane, with runs into Relief Lane, NeedlePoint Lane, Old Maids Lane, etc. Hah! Thanks for the poetic jab/motivation here! 🙂
    Your poem takes this sign to another place. I was going to “quote” my favorite lines and realized they all fit together so well that I can’t really do that. So, I’ll just say that your lead-in line, “tightropes intricately sewn of doubts” takes me right in….I am with you all the way here. “sifting pebbles of doubt”….waving to the hazy sky as our future. Well done. And as positive of a person as I am….I think we all have moment where we sift pebbles of doubt. I’m reminded of the strawberry shortcake I made last night….the shortcake from scratch called for sifting the flour….and when you do, it becomes so fine and soft…would that we could change our doubts to a fineness….:)

    Reply
  16. I love this! You had me at “Back and forth I tiptoe from sky blue clarity to the rarity of predictions come true.” Beautifully executed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

