RSS Feed

Ties

Posted on

thailand-1578267_1280

 

He tells me he’s going to Thailand. Alone. For six weeks. Six weeks and six days. He is taking a backpack. I think he is joking but then…there’s the grin, that familiar smirk n’ dimple disposition that says he is not. I smile, wide-eyed while panic pokes at every ounce of my maternal self. “What?” “Why?” “When?” The fact that he will miss Christmas becomes trivial, getting lost in swirls of anxiety. I look in his eyes for answers to questions I haven’t thought of yet. He speaks of hostels in Bangkok and a train to Chiang Mai where you can ride an elephant. My heart races like a tuk-tuk but I remain focused on him, his dreams, his ambitions, his life. This is his life.

 

sea eagle sets sail

as easterly winds beckon

avoiding monsoons

 

Toni (kazensukura) leads our Haibun Monday at dVerse this week. The topic is your choice. Just remember to follow the etiquette of the form. “(1) The haibun must be non-fiction (2) The occurance must have actually happened to you (3) You are to write one to two tight paragraphs and (4) End it with a season based haiku.”

Image: pixabay.com

 

 

16 responses »

  1. Oh Mish! The eaglet is leaving the nest and to Thailand of all places. I hope he is traveling with a tesponsible group of young people. I remember when I backpacked across the US and back and then in Europe. …with a very responsible young man and a good friend. We had adventures but pretty tame compared to young folk nowadays. I pray he remains safe and has a wonderful time.

    Reply
  2. This tears at me. On one hand, we want to possess and love our kids, but maturity requires us to let them go and love our kids nonetheless, loved this.

    Reply
  3. Good snapshot of anxiety and support …

    Reply
  4. Railroad thai’s lies under rails. We oft go off to find ourselfs, may he find what binds in tie-land

    Reply
  5. Your haibun captures the mixed emotions very well and it sounds like a wonderful adventure for him. I went backpacking and hitch-hiking through Egypt for three months when I was in my early twenties. I slept under the stars in the desert, trusted everybody I met and was oblivious to any dangers. It was an amazing time and while I spoke only a little Arabic communication was always easy. My simple mantra for anyone traveling is when you look for the good in people you will find it.

    Reply
  6. I hope he has a safe trip.

    Reply
  7. As a mother of six… I so get this. It doesn’t ever get easy ;P

    Reply
  8. I have no kids so I can only imagine and try to remember myself… I think my parents pushed me to adventures (and I loved it)… but that was in Europe Interrailing.

    Reply
  9. This is his life.

    That about sums it up. Kids may appear reckless and spontaneous but they have minds of their own.

    Hank

    Reply
  10. Oh my heart… I completely understand and I don’t think I could be nearly as calm as you even if your heart races like a tuk-tuk. May you both survive the six weeks and six days with wonderful memories for a lifetime.

    Reply
  11. Oh my…amazing haibun in that is so replete with BALANCED maternal love, concern and letting go. Love the haiku. Sea eagle, indeed.

    Reply
  12. Just being close to people who have children, I can relate and feel the anxiety in this poem. Haiku works well.

    Reply
  13. just be prepared to pick up the pieces ❤

    Reply
  14. This is beautifully poignant, Mish ❤️ I can only imagine the mixed emotions at the thought of that trip.. (may he have a safe and enjoyable one) your haibun possesses that timeless quality to it.. one of unconditional love that a mother has towards her children. Beautifully penned❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply
  15. Rovers
    vs
    Sitters
    and
    ‘tween
    hard to
    meet
    on cliffs
    and safety
    seats where caution
    mixes with wild and free..
    both play a role
    extra and
    intro
    in
    extreme
    polar too..
    never the less..
    it is the extra Super
    Rover that ends having
    so much fun.. danger or not..
    while those
    who sit
    wait
    for
    dead or alive..
    it’s all relative..
    when Love And Free..:)

    Reply
  16. Parenting isn’t for sissies, Mish! Nicely written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

