RSS Feed

Open-handed

Posted on

 

 

I am sifting dreams

Between tired fingers

They trickle like gypsum crystals

Pure and unproductive

My knuckles now carry

Their own set of baggage

Indented with frowns and smiles

That taunt me with the truth

“I am getting older”

 

But I will not clench this life

With frenzied fists

Squeezing moments dry

Palms open, I wait

Trusting in lines of fate

For life to gently unfold

These hands have held miracles

 

snail in hands

 

I am so honoured and excited to be hosting Poetics at dVerse Poets Pub today! The prompt I have chosen is hands, to be used literally, symbolically or metaphorically. Let your hands tell a story. Pay homage to hands. I left this in the hands of some amazing poets and I look forward to reading their work. The pub opens at 3 pm EST. See you there!

 

30 responses »

  1. Those hands can nurture life and nourish it with open palms ~ Love the inspiring message and picture Mish ~

    Thanks for hosting ~

    Reply
  2. This is wonderful Mish… I love how the hands are becoming the metaphor for life itself… Tender and strong at the same time.

    Reply
  3. A lovely & spirited tribute to our favorite terminus at arm’s length; rife with both affection, humor, & hope. Aging is not for sissies; just saying. Thanks for hosting the Pub.

    Reply
  4. What a glorious poem Mish! I love the strong imagery and the descriptions of actual hands set off against metaphoric. Very cool. I agree – aging is not for sissies – it is for those who are willing to have it tho’ (age, I mean). Good poem and great to have you at the helm of dVerse. Thanks for everything.

    http://whenthepenbleeds.blogspot.ca/2016/03/hand-in-hand.html

    Reply
  5. Wonderful poem .. love the line ‘will not clench this life with frenzied fists’ and the closing line hits it all beautifully on the nail 🙂

    Reply
  6. YES. Love this. Adore snails. Long for open hands, ready to receive. I connected with this, deeply.

    Reply
  7. This is wonderful. I’m especially fond of the first four lines and the last line.

    Reply
  8. My knuckles now carry their own set of baggage. What a great line… I had to think about that one for awhile, and am still thinking about it. So much packed into that image. Great job.

    Reply
  9. Such a gorgeous write 🙂

    Reply
  10. To accept what life brings…palms open, is a beautiful perspective.

    Reply
  11. I have to hand it to you, Mish! A beautiful blend of words!

    Reply
  12. Palms open…with trust! That is the way to go through life!

    Reply
  13. miracles indeed..and yes to the knuckles, they tell an unpleasant tale…

    Reply
  14. This made me think of the brown spots on my mom’s hands that I’m now starting to get as I grow older. Peace, Linda

    Reply
  15. When you stop and think about it our hands have held many miracles if we have taken notice. Love that miracle of a snail there! Thank you for the inspiration, Mish.

    Reply
  16. Superb poem, Mish. I love those lines: ‘My knuckles now carry / Their own set of baggage’.
    Thank you for hosting such a lovely challenge.

    Reply
  17. May your life indeed gently unfold. Interesting acceptance poem.

    Reply
  18. “Indented with friends and smiles” is a brilliant way to describe knuckles!

    Reply
  19. This is a poem of great depth and beauty

    Reply
  20. Tell-tale signs but hidden from view only because the hands want to keep it a secret. But sweat and tears bear on them just the same. Wonderful lines Mish!

    Hank

    Reply
  21. There are tell-tale signs but hidden from view only because the hands want to keep it a secret. But sweat and tears bear on them just the same. Wonderful lines Mish!

    Hank

    Reply
  22. Wonderful thoughts of growing older, and all that our hands have been through over the years. I love the line …’trusting in lines of fate’… makes me think of palm reading, and the lifeline we all hope is long. Also, I took a look at my own knuckles…you are right…frowns and smiles! 🙂

    Reply
  23. A masterful take on ‘hands’. Flowed beautifully with woven logic and thought.

    Loved this…

    ‘But I will not clench this life

    With frenzied fists

    Squeezing moments dry’

    Exactly!

    Reply
  24. ….. trusting in lines of fate.. how very hopeful. this is a beauty Mish!

    Reply
  25. We are honored and excited to have you has host, Mish, too. As we age, our hands definitely have stories to tell. I find it helpful to listen.

    Reply
  26. Your poem made me look at my own hands – the line about frowns and smiles of knuckles. I discovered strange emoticons in mine!

    Reply
  27. “Palms open, I wait
    Trusting in lines of fate
    For life to gently unfold
    These hands have held miracles”

    When I was younger I thought Psalms was spelled the way it was becasue when He answered, your palms should be open ready to receive. These line remind me of that.

    Our hands are miracle workers but not when clenched, “Squeezing moments dry’”. Such a beautiful write.

    Reply
  28. I like the idea of palms open, there is a peace and a patience about that image. If we really think about it, all of our hands have held miracles. That is a powerful thing!

    Reply
  29. This is such a meditative poem and I love your closing line…miracles indeed! Thank you for your prompt @ dVerse…I missed the window but linked for OLN! 🙂

    Reply
  30. Hand of Move..
    Hand of Art..
    Hand of Still..
    Move of hand..
    Art of hand..
    stiLL oF hAnd free..
    never aginG SpiRit noW
    fingers oN haNd oF jOy..:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

