RSS Feed

Frustrated with WordPress Reader…again

Posted on

These are my opinions based on my experiences with the recent changes to the WordPress Reader.

There is a lot more double clicking involved on most posts in the reader to get to the original blog, instead of the simple click on the word count that took you there directly.

On some people’s posts in the reader,  the first click on the post title OR on “20 sec. read” for example will take you to a page that looks like your blog only it sits on an ugly white background that is not yours. A second click is then required to find the real blog. Some readers may never bother with the second click, therefore they may never see the wonderful blog that you created. Some posts have a “Visit…with a link to the blog” to take you to their original blog. Some do not have one single place to click on that will take you directly to their blog.

There are three dots at the right side of each post (one click). Then you can hit “Visit Site” (two click) to get to the blog. I stumbled upon this feature. Did you? Why do we have to go on a journey to find a blog? Make one link that says “Blog” perhaps?!

The posts in the reader are so close together now, they seem to blend together, making it more difficult to decipher where one ends and the next one starts.

20 sec. read??? 15 min. read??? Are we children that need to be warned in case we do not have the attention span to read a post? The word count gave us the length of a post without being rude about it. Are they discouraging us from reading?

If you want to express your opinions about the changes, please visit, read and share in the forums! There is a representative from WordPress staff responding to comments.

https://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/reader-view?replies=55

Thanks for taking the time to read my rant. How many seconds did it take you? (just kidding)

 

 

20 responses »

  1. I agree with everything you have said here. I found the reader much easier before changes were made. Will go to the link to express my distain!

    Reply
  2. There are things they should be fixing, but the reader was not one of them. Jerks.

    Reply
  3. I have had some other issues but the tech support has always helped me out. I agree with all that you’ve pointed out regarding the reader and will put in my two cents. Thanks for the link!

    Reply
  4. It took me this long to learn how to navigate the original Reader. Now I’m amazed I even made here to comment. 🙂

    Reply
  5. I absolutely agree with you! Also commenting is different,m difficult! Why change for worst!!!

    Reply
  6. You are so right! I really really really hate the 3 min read, 2 min read label. How does anyone know how long it takes someone to read anything? It is kind of insulting actually. I’m an extremely slow reader so now I have to feel bad if something takes me 6 minutes to read instead of the now labelled 2 minute read? Jeez. I’m starting to hate wordpress a little more every day. I’ll go write all this at your link. Thank you. Ugghh…

    Reply
  7. I couldn’t agree with you more! I’m so irritated by the whole thing and all the changes they keep making. I think the thing that irritates me almost as much as the changes themselves is the TOTAL disregard for the feelings of bloggers. 😦

    Reply
  8. Twilight Jewels

    Thanks for advocating mish! I added my two cents to the forum thread, too.

    Reply
  9. Thanks for passing on that link. 🙂 I made my complaints some time ago on that forum, but you know WordPress – they rarely listen. 😦

    I’m concerned those views on our blogs we get from WordPress readers will be counted by WordPress but not by Google as genuine views to the blog because the post is being viewed outside of the blog. I’m sure WordPress will say this will not be the case, because they say that with every problem. Views actually count more with Google rating blogs higher in a search than the actual number of likes. I hope I’m wrong, but if not, this could be bad news for anyone with books or any other products for sale, especially for charities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

