RSS Feed

The Dis connect

Posted on

 

chain

 

 

Who broke the link? Who broke the link?
I think it could have been me
I stretched myself too far this time
I forgot where I should be
How does one fill the gaping void
Where fragments flake to rust?
Does time slow down to heal the wound
Does space turn hope to dust?

Does space turn hope to dust?
Does time slow down to heal the wound
Where fragments flake to rust?
How does one fill the gaping void?
I forgot where I should be
I stretched myself too far this time
I think it could have been me
Who broke the link , who broke the link

 

 

My first attempt at a Palindrome poem in response to Mary’s prompt for Meeting the Bar.  Mary explains that in Palindrome poetry or Mirror Poetry “the poet uses the same sentences (or almost!) forward and backward. “

 

 

26 responses »

  1. Ah, your questions work so well as part of the palindrome. And, indeed it is so very easy to stretch oneself too far, isn’t it? If only we could get time to slow down.

    Reply
  2. it happens, indeed… stretching to far is an easy way to lose ourselves… must retract and breathe from time to time 🙂

    Reply
  3. We can only stretch so far, before something snaps. That is for sure.
    I like how the opening questions became a statement in the end,
    almost in answer of it.

    Reply
  4. (:..Disconnect of life.. coming from birth..
    TV’s.. computers.. electronic devices..
    disconnect human being mechanical
    over social
    cognition
    social over
    mechanical being human disconnect..
    devices electronic.. computers.. TV’s..
    birth from.. coming life of Disconnect..:)

    Reply
  5. Oh wow! And I love the line, does time slow down to heal the wound. Well done.

    Reply
  6. Who broke the link? –a very smart question in these modern times as it can refer to a real-life bond or an internet link.

    Reply
  7. Excellent palindrome and food for thought!

    Reply
  8. Very well-done! I like the slight shifts in meaning that the grammatical change allows, thanks to the form.

    Reply
  9. Lots to think about in this, Mish. The form reads with a certain lightness but the the meaning hits deep.

    Reply
  10. Interesting comment. I think you are right! The meaning behind the poem is very real and deep, but when I chose to use rhyme, it created a contrast in mood. The rhythm livened it up a bit. 🙂

    Reply
  11. I really like how you played this. stretching too much is alas to easy but not so easy to mend.

    Reply
  12. so much to think about , but hope is always there.

    Reply
  13. Glenn Buttkus

    And yet, & yet we must reach beyond our grasp, or we may stagnate, wither, or remain static; a fine palindrome for sure, so good I did not notice the rhyme the first read-through. I like how you solved the mirror image for first, then last, moving from inquiry to declaration. You came late to my site, & I loved your comment. In a week we start on a photo journey road trip across the Southwest, to TX & back, & divers old cars, trains, & planes await my shutter clicking.

    Reply
  14. I’m late to your “link” but impressed by your palindrome which can be considered different ways…like images in a mirror.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

