RSS Feed

Lingo

Posted on

scrabble-848152-m

 

 

 

 

 

I refer to dreams
Like entities when truly
They deserve description
Paradoxical mysteries of the mind?
Some things need to be left cryptic

I speak of serenity
Like I could find it on a map
GPS it in my dreams aspirations
Doldrums, lulls within the chaos
Would suffice

Hearts and havens
Thrive within phrases
And I too, fall for the obvious
Ancient shells, ancient trees
All a matter of preference

This is how I begin
“This” is a word I use often
My bona fide crutch
We, you and I
My launching pads for poetry

Conundrum
A word I would never use
Choppy, awkward
Rolls off the tongue like a rototiller
Ouch

~

For dVerse Poet’s Pub, as we examine our word choices in poetry.

Image credit: http://www.freeimages.com

12 responses »

  1. “off my tongue like a rototiller” — hillarious
    fun

    Reply
  2. I love how you explained what your “launching pads” were right in the poem! nice write

    Reply
  3. A wonderful ars poetica. I especially enjoyed your descriptor of conundrum. I think we all have crutches and words we eschew for aesthetic reasons. Thanks for linking, I really enjoyed your take on the prompt!

    Reply
  4. a launching pad.. I love that. I think you made conundrum work fine.

    Reply
  5. love how you used a word you would never use ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. I would add that we all gained a little knowledge by writing this way for Anna’s prompt. I like that!

    Reply
  7. I appreciate the glimpse into your writing process ~ I hardly used the word conundrum too ~ Wishing you a good week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

