RSS Feed

This Storm Called Sandy

Posted on

storm sandy

 

Rising up, inhaling leaves
Exhaling with vengeance
Flimsy, unattended branches
Whipping at my tattered roof
Darkness surrounds me
Other than this trusty monitor
Sharing it’s light
As if to comfort me
While this raging force
Sweeps up my sense of security
I hate this storm
This storm called Sandy

Rising up, inhaling my fears
Exhaling with flippant attitude
Taking power from my hands
And dangling my safety
Like a twig left hanging precariously
From my beloved maple tree
The haunting, taunting noise
Bellows up, down, billows around
My tiny glowing haven
Enough to make me cringe
At the mindless power of wind
I hate this storm
This storm called Sandy

 

Over at dVerse today, MarinaSofia asked us to write about a time when we were “snowed in, iced out or in some other perilous winter situation”. Ironically, that was yesterday for me. We are still shoveling ourselves out. However, this particular piece was written in October 2012 when I actually feared for my home and my personal safety.

32 responses »

  1. sandy was the hurricane right?
    i have been through some pretty rough storms…floods…hurricanes…and done relief work and clean up afterward…it can be brutal what a storm can do…

    how much snow did you get?
    we are still waiting on some….

    Reply
    • Yes, it was..when it hit us here in southwestern Ontario, it was considered a storm, hence the name. I have seen a few storms. This one was the only one where I considered my house ripping apart. Trees were uprooted. The sound of the wind was like nothing I had experienced.
      Snow?? I think we got about a foot yesterday and now it’s coming down again!

      Reply
  2. I know about winter storm and its devastating effects on trees, streetlights and home ~ The force of nature is still something to behold and you are right to be fearful for your home ~

    Good luck with the shoveling ~ Our forecast is more snow is coming before the end of the week ~

    Reply
  3. That storm looks like a scary place to be – great take on the prompt πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. liked this bit a lot ………..
    Taking power from my hands
    And dangling my safety
    Like a twig left hanging precariously
    From my beloved maple tree

    great image

    Reply
  5. You wrote this in such a way that I really felt the power of that storm. It must have been awful to endure. “Taking power from my hands” — I can feel that. We really are so powerless in the face of nature, aren’t we?

    Reply
  6. The Power of Sandy is an awesome one in Deed.. and in focusing on the Super Storm of last Century in ’93.. the unnamed one in ’93 pales in comparison to the deeds of destruction done by the most powerful one in DESTRUCTION of all..:)

    Reply
  7. this is such a powerful write… the tragedies nature can bring… ugh, my uncle and grandpa were affected by hurricane Katrina…

    Reply
  8. You certainly conveyed the scariness of such powerful storms. It reminded me of ine we had in France more than 15 years ago where trees were uprooted too.

    Reply
  9. A blizzard might have some dangers. ..but I don’t think they are anything in comparison to those dangers that accompany a hurricane. I’m glad that’s one thing I don’t have to face where I live.

    Reply
  10. i think such storms remind us of how fragile things are and how powerful nature can be… can be so intimidating

    Reply
  11. I have never experienced weather where I don’t feel safe inside.. But I can feel the fear and strength in your poem.

    Reply
  12. What I love about this is the way you convey our utter helplessness in the face of the fury of nature unleashed… we build our nest, we surround ourselves with technology, we believe we’re safe… but then, this cuts us down to size.

    Reply
  13. What a frightening time that was….and a snowstorm can be just as scary…thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  14. A vivid memory – I’m so glad you survived! Here’sI hoping yesterday’s snow soon goes away.

    Reply
  15. Yes, vivinfrance, this is a vivid memory. I’m in weak knees now. mishunderstood, your piece is not only touching but scary as well. Sorry dear.

    Reply
  16. that poor tattered roof… and why do they give storms names anyway

    Reply

Leave a Reply

