RSS Feed

Freshly Peeved: Sign Out, Stats and Other Random Changes

Posted on
johnny__s_pretty_peeved_stock_by_fahrmboy_stock

Image credit: fahrmboy-stock.deviantart.com

Change can be good. Change can be awesome. Some changes have no apparent benefit, however. This seems to be the case with the recent changes to the WP reader, icons and stats page.

If you like to navigate from the reader like I do, then you may share some of my beefs.

I can’t sign out directly from the reader. The usual gravatar icon at the top right no longer responds when I hover over it. If I click on it, it takes me to my Profile page, somewhere I would rarely go. I have to go to “My Sites” first, click on “View Site”at the left of the page, hover over that and from the more familiar drop down, finally sign out. That would be 3 clicks and a hover. I give that two thumbs down.

The new Stats Page is very blue, very boring and very unappealing. Not everyone looks at their stats page, but I’ll admit that I do. I like to know if others enjoy my writing, which topics are more popular that I write about, from what countries around the world are other bloggers tuning in. etc. The original stats page is bold, well organized and easy to read. The new one…uh..not so much.

I have no idea how to get to my own gravatar page now…not that I care, I guess.

Those lovely, encouraging orange stars that used to show up at the top right while I browsed my reader….gone. Ding Dong…it’s a bell…hmm…could this be for the holiday season??

I can still get to the original stats page…if I click on my blog first….oh wait….first I must click on My Sites, then in tiny letters “View site”…is this sounding familiar? Once I get into my blog the top toolbar looks like old times. I can click on the stats icon on the left that looks like a graph or I can hover over the little gravatar which will also give me the option of the original stats page. So as it seems, at this moment there are two versions of the stats page.

SO…do you want to voice your opinions?

If you visit the forums (that is, if you can find them) you can read what others are saying about the new changes and add your two cents if you’d like. “Massive changes to the WP interface” and “Missing Sign Out” are two active discussions at the moment.

You can tell WP what you think of the new Stats page by completing the survey they provided on the My Sites page. Click on “Give us your feedback”.

Click on, click off…..oh I wish I could just clap my hands or click my heels and things would go back to normal in the blogosphere.

14 responses »

  1. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. I couldn’t agree more..And there wasn’t even a warning either..Would’ve been cool if we had option to stick with the prior format or not(I think most of us would choose ‘not’)..Will add my 2 cents in the forum when time permits

    Reply
  3. I agree completely… I don’t like the new changes to WP. I will voice my thoughts also, but I always wonder if it is in vain. I used to feel that speaking out made a difference, but in this day and age with everyone yammering via social media and comments and responses being all over the place, it could be I’m wasting my time saying anything. Still, it feels good to read here that I am not the only person my age who thinks in a practical manner, and does not find the WP changes “practical and organized” at all. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Apparently the forums have been moved & I can’t find them…

    Reply
  5. It would seem that net designers are just addicted to change whether or not it is for the better.

    Reply
  6. Change isn’t always good. :O

    Reply
  7. Shery Alexander Heinis

    It’s not only net designers. Changes are made randomly in many sectors and industries seemingly simply to use the words “new and improved”,. You like a particular shade of lipstick? Well, stock up, for within a year, it’s taken off the shelf. Your favourite cereal? Same. These are the times in which we live and it is assumed we want change, even when it’s not necessary, or it does nothing to improve on the original.

    Reply
  8. I am just stunned at how incompetent and sloppy the whole so called upgrade has been handled. It seems to me that developers don’t even know the product, there are so many errors and omissions. The whole thing is a hopeless mess but I am not sure complaining will make the slightest bit of difference. That girl in the Forum won’t even acknowledge that there are issues.

    Reply
    • I agree. It is as if they are detached from their own product as well as the people who use it. It feels like a child just went in and hit a bunch of buttons and we are supposed to live with the results. The girl in the forum is overly polite but does not seem to have any real influence. We can only hope that filling out the survey will help.

      Reply
  9. Ding..dong.. I guess it has been quite some holiday season alright—at WP’s kitchen, the absence of common sense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

