RSS Feed

Frustrated with WordPress Reader

Posted on

Is it safe to assume that I am not the only one that HATES the new WordPress reader?

At the risk of peeving off some important folks, I have to speak my mind.  I consider myself a writer, whether I am skilled or an amateur. After careful consideration, I chose WordPress out of many other similar sites as my canvass to create and a haven to read the most amazing material. 

I love WordPress …or at least I did. Clicking on a post only to be taken to a snippet is extremely frustrating. It is insulting to have a shrunken version of your post that requires another click on “Original view” just to get to the actual blog. This will also have an effect on views (if this matters to you). The missing wordcount means that as a reader you have no idea how long the post is. So many changes that seem to have no benefit except cause to be annoying.

As loyal WordPress readers and writers,  we can sheepishly follow the flock or we can voice our concerns as many others have on the forums page.

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/reader-changed?replies=76

Don’t let a few people ruin a good thing when thousands of us can stand up, be counted and be heard!

Reblog!

Repeat!

Express yourself!

47 responses »

  1. Thank you for expressing my own sentiments! I follow a number of photography blogs, and there are times now when no photo shows in the reader at all, yet I know the post includes photos. I don’t like the new reader.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on unexpectedincommonhours and commented:
    I don’t like the new reader either!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: WordPress.com Reader Update | one cool site

  4. Thank god I am not alone! I thought I would be the only one hating the new reader! it drives me nuts and I do think that only showing a snippit will affect readership because that person then has to click ‘original’ and that momentary pause may make them think sod it and not bother! also the ”my blogs’ bit has changed for me also….its all very annoying and now I feel better having got that off my chest:):) I would not mind if WordPress consulted us first…hey ho! Ceri x.

    Reply
  5. I have not liked the WordPress Reader from the time I first chose WordPress for my blog. The powers that be have taken it from mediocre to “poor” standard in my opinion. I used Google Reader until it was discontinued. I am still in search of a better organized way to read posts. I will have to endure this annoying system until I find something better.

    Reply
  6. do not like it – hate is too strong. it’s a bit like short shart shock treatment – had no idea it effected stats

    Reply
  7. I do agree with you, it is quite frustrating having to “double click” to actually get to the full article or the actual blog.

    Reply
  8. I’m also having issues with the new reader..Ugh! I wonder what motivated W.P. to change it? I really dig W.P.; so I try not to complain..BUT ugh! lolll I use /need reader alerts so that I can quickly scan down posts of my fave blog sites..Which is ALOT…So I’ve no choice but to get used to the new reader..What would’ve been great? Is if we had the option to revert back to the old version if we desired..And those that like the new version could keep it. As of yet? I’ve found not one thing I like about the new reader…Thanks for allowing us a place to vent it out!

    Reply
  9. Reblogged this on Scripting Happiness and commented:
    I second the frustration

    Reply
  10. Reblogged this on My Experiments with Words and commented:
    Frustrating Reader!

    Reply
  11. I wouldn’t say I HATE it, but it certainly is not as easy to use or as complimentary to posts as it used to be.

    Reply
  12. I’m not happy with some changes but I didn’t vote in your poll as I find “hate” doesn’t describe how I feel. I’m disappointed and annoyed but I’m not a hater.

    Reply
    • Hi timethief, I should have said “dislike” or a similar sentiment, not quite as intense, I suppose. Thanks for pointing that out. It seems a few others agree with you on that.
      I definitely agree that the changes are disappointing and annoying. 🙂

      Reply
  13. I feel like, with all the other bugs and issues that never get addressed by WordPress, that redesigning the reader yet again, when it was just fine before, is like trying to bail water out of a sinking ship with a thimble.

    Reply
  14. Reblogged this on Harcourt 51 and commented:
    Please can we change the WordPress Reader back to the way it was.

    Reply
  15. Yes. I agree. The new version of Reader, the lack of word count, the summary page that leads to a summary page, represent one of the most irritating software changes I have ever experienced.

    Reply
  16. Thank you for blogging this. The new reader is VERY UNFRIENDLY!

    Reply
  17. Reblogged this on Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle and commented:
    This new reader is not very user friendly. Repost this if you feel the same way or go to the forum that is listed and express your views.

    Reply
  18. I agree, and my reader shows every post twice!

    Reply
  19. Thanks for writing this post! I commented on the forum and voted here (hate it).

    Reply
  20. You are not alone and I voted for the ‘hate it’ option. i am not seeing how this is an improvement?

    Reply
  21. If you read my second to last post, you will see I am on your team!!!!!

    Reply
  22. I totally agree. It’s been bothering me too for some time. Thank you for bringing it up!

    Reply
  23. Right there with you. I’m not a fan of it at all.

    Reply
  24. I suspect it encourages certain people to do a load of clicking on “like” with the sole aim of getting others to reciprocate. Once, I posted something that would have required more than a minute to read, yet the person clicked “like” after two seconds. I was so annoyed to think that I’d spent a good hour of my valuable time writing something of interest, the majority of which was dismissed in one click. Some people are on such ego trips, and so, so, so transparent.

    Recently, I’ve preferred not to use the reader but take trips to my favourite blogs either via the follower grid in my sidebar or via the page that lists who I follow.

    Reply
    • Good points! I can say that I am committed to reading all blogs in the Original View no matter how many unnecessary clicks. I can only hope that the same courtesy is returned. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      Reply
      • Update: Now that the word count is back, for many blogs you can get to the original blog by clicking on this. It doesn’t help those whose blogs have a shorter text content, however. In this case, you would have to do the double click!

  25. Thanks for the link to the forums, this is what I added:
    WordPress needs to change the reader to what it used to be for years. The new reader is obnoxious. Encouraging “Like” through the reader and not going to the actual blog.
    Also, it takes up too much time to click “See Original” and it is too hard on computers having so many windows open.
    Slows things down and overheats.
    IF IT AIN’T BROKE DON’t FIX IT! …And it wasn’t broke, so make it the way it used to be.

    Reply
  26. I agree! I don’t care for it at all. If enough people stand up, then they will have to change it back. Well, at least we would hope so.

    Reply
  27. I hate it! Yes, it’s a very strong word and it rings true for me. I did the same as you, made a poll about this new change http://mysardinianlife.com/2013/11/06/poll-what-do-you-think-of-the-new-wordpress-reader/. I think the developers want people to stay on wordpress.com so they get more numbers etc … I know that my stats have gone down by 50% since they started this new reader. It’s really sad for those writers who put a lot of time and effort into an article. Have you heard anything from the developers as so why, and if they’re going to change it back?

    Reply
  28. Hi Jennifer, if you go to the forums with the link above and go to page 3, there is a comment that I know of, made by someone associated with WordPress (“Happiness Engineer”).
    We can only hope that our voices are heard and that they actually care about our opinions.

    Reply
  29. I agree with you! Realy HATE the new reader for all the reasons expressed in your post and in the comments too.
    I hadn’t realized it was effecting stats, because I’ve never actually looked at my stats (seriously!) But for bloggers who keep on top of likes/follows (and I imagine anyone with a business is in this category) this is BAD NEWS and needs to change!
    I already left similar comments to these in the support forum but wanted to voice an opinion here so you’d know you’re not alone!

    Reply
  30. I totaly agree with you! besides all that you listed, I very often have very limited time to browse and this is making me have even less.
    I found a way to bypass it tho. If you click on ” (insert number) more words” instead to the title or the image of the post, it takes you directly to the post, without the snipet and having to click on the view original.
    Hope this helps you and sorry if somebody already said it 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comments, Oloriel. I have been using the word count as a way in. The time stamp in the left bottom corner will also take you there. It would have been nice if this was communicated to the members because many will simply use the blue window and miss the creativity and uniqueness of our blogs.
      I also don’t like the “related articles” at the bottom of some of my posts as if I had chosen them based on their relevance to my post.

      Reply
      • Have not noticed the “related articles” at my blog yet, but I have seen it on other blogs and it is a tad bit annoying, at least to me. Tho, I do think, if it is automatic, that some people will appriciate the idea.
        There will always be things we cannot control that will make us feel like our blogs are less ours and more somebody elses – but at least the article thing is not as annoying as the reader thing for me AND the fact that I seriously doubt they will revert the reader back :/

      • Try this to remove related articles.

        Dashboard >>: Settings >> Reading >> Related posts > un-check the boxes

  31. I’m with wordpress about six years and have never used the reader, I allows get posts through the follow button and so do most of my readers.

    Reply
    • Hi Harry, thanks for dropping in to comment. Some do like to access the blogs via email. I really like to use the reader. I like scrolling to see which posts grab my attention first. It is also handy for keeping track of my favourite topics, checking into Freshly Pressed, monitoring various lists,stats and comments and overall I just like “being there”. Hopefully they will make it more user friendly again, so that those who choose the reader have a more enjoyable experience. 🙂

      Reply
  32. Like Harry, I have never used the Reader either so I can’t really comment. I only read posts when they come into my email from the blogs I follow 🙂

    Reply
  33. I am on the middle-road here when it comes to viewing posts. What really makes me sad is the problem of accessing older posts after a day or two.
    What I do now is open my Gmail and access the site directly through the likes email notification. That’s my solution when posts are not shown in the Reader in its entirety.

    Reply
  34. Was it my imagination, but I also thought it was easier to ‘search’ for blogs. Well, maybe like Windows there will be a reboot soon and it will be better. Maybe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

