RSS Feed

50 Things I’ve Learned in 50 Years…#6

Posted on

#6. “I could easily get into a fist fight with people who talk during a concert. If you’re not singing, shut up!”

DSCF4662

Tragically Hip
(and the brilliant mind of Gord)

Have you been there?

It’s hard enough watching a struggling artist pour out his heart and soul in a quiet bar as people obnoxiously talk over him.  At a concert, it especially baffles me when people actually pay for a ticket but don’t have any interest in the band. There’s the fifteen year old textaholics that didn’t know the name of the group until they got there because they never heard of them. Why? Because they were not BORN YET!! Then there’s the couple who had a few too many “pre-drinks” and are now arguing about how many they’ve had and how they’re getting home. Don’t forget the ones that continually talk into each other’s  ears about the group you’re trying to listen to as if no one can hear them.

Besides the evil glares that I cast upon them, I can envision myself (maybe after one more beer), winding up a good one.

Pop!!

Of course, that never happens. I am there to see a band that I love and somehow through my gritting teeth, I manage to bite my tongue and behave myself.

The evil glares continue, however.

Music is extremely meaningful and sentimental to me and I appreciate that not everyone shares this passion to the extent that I do but…pahleeaase!! Would they like it if someone was interfering with their livelihood? Hmmm….imagine if you’re a public speaker and a few oblivious people in your audience suddenly burst out into song.

There is a time and place for everything.

DSCF4352

The Eagles
(a major check off the bucket list)

One response »

  1. This drives me crazy, too! I also can’t stand when people sing through the whole concert. I came to hear the band sing NOT YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

