RSS Feed

No Regrets

Posted on
No Regrets

Would you touch a snake? I had the opportunity. It was during an inspiring nature walk with my husband. The sun was warm and healing. The path we were hiking on led to a wooden bridge over a marshy area. I took my time inspecting the environment as my husband waited impatiently for me to continue on our journey. He should know by now that for me, it’s all about the journey.  I spotted that snake basking in the sun. He didn’t seem to mind my curiosity as I stopped to say hello.  Again, like seeing a mountain and not climbing it,  I just had to touch him. I wondered how rough his thick skin would be and would he feel invaded. Just one little stroke is all I needed to know how he felt…..to experience something new. So I reached out to pet him. Can you pet a snake? His skin was rough, as I had imagined. He did not flinch. I did not flinch. Instead, I took that moment in. I had touched a snake. No regrets.

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Oh my you are brave, I’m terrified of snakes no matter whether they are harmless or venomous…Good to be able to to have someone share what such a close encounter is like!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

